Sunday, May 1, 2011

31 Weeks. When are you due?

I didn’t think people were supposed to ask that question. I mean, sure, if you know me and know that I am pregnant it’s appropriate, but isn’t there some unwritten rule that says don’t just assume someone is pregnant? Regardless, I am asked that question at least once a day now. Grocery stores, public bathrooms, church, gas stations, restaurants, you name it. I don’t actually care, because I am pregnant, I just thought it was not supposed to be socially acceptable. Kyle tells me that I indeed look undeniably pregnant, so most people feel comfortable asking, and I guess that makes sense. It actually makes me feel better. I would rather people assume I’m pregnant than assume I’ve just got a massive beer gut. I, however, cannot imagine asking a complete stranger when they are due. It’s none of my business. It’s not just when are you due, either. It’s also, “are you having a boy or girl.” “You must be buying paint for your babies room” (in lowes, buying paint for my babies room…). “Have you got a name picked out?” And my personal favorite to date, “Are you due in September?” Uhhh… what? Now complete strangers are also guessing my due date at random. I was so flustered by this sweet old lady in the church bathroom, I said, “no, august.” Wait, what? I had to quickly correct myself, and say, “I mean the beginning of July.” She probably thought I was nuts, but I thought the same of her. No, I am not due in September, thanks for playing.

We are at 31 weeks! 9 to go the whole way, and 6 to full term! Oh.My.Goodness. I am so very excited. Things are pretty much done in regards to preparing. I will continue to work on her laundry, and am making myself wait to pack our hospital bags for a few more weeks… but besides that, we’re ready for her! Since she’s pretty much “done” as far as her body goes, there’s not really anything new to say. She is around 3.5lbs and 18 inches. Woah, baby. She’s getting big! One new thing this week, however, is that all 5 of her senses are developed. She can now see, hear, taste, touch, and smell. Yay for Leah! She gets the hiccups 3-4 times a day, it’s insane. With the exception of one time, I always feel them on my extreme lower left side. Does that mean she’s in the proper position for birth now? Head down, butt up? I think it does. After all, hiccups are an upper body event. I also get hard jabs on my upper right side and right under my right rib cage. So if I had to guess, I’d say she is laying diagonally, head to the left, feet to the right. Using these last 9 weeks to slowly rotate herself to come out and meet us!

I also believe our little girl can fist bump now. And here’s why: I was reading an article last week about what you might be feeling when your baby is moving. And it described different parts of the body and what they might feel like. Apparently the “little balls” that stick up from my belly from time to time could very well be her little fists. So naturally, I’m assuming she is just giving her mom and dad a fist bump, and knowing this now, I make sure to give her one back… and I make Kyle as well. It’s rude to deny someone a fist bump. We are a fist bumping bunch of Proebstings now. As for the rest of it, the “bigger balls” may either be her head or rump. Going with the theory that her head is down low where it is supposed to be, I am only left to believe that the feeling I get most often, that big ball that sticks out my right side, is indeed her little butt sticking out. Her legs are pretty easy, I’ve been confident on them for a while… long and skinny… and usually somewhere far too close to my ribs. Her arms start flailing from time to time as well, they don’t seem to be as strong as what I think are her legs, but I think they are what I’m feeling below my belly button. Oh, what I would give to be able to peak in at her and see if I’m right!

And how am I? Tired. Forgetful. But actually, even with no energy or memory, I’m still happy and enjoying being pregnant. It’s getting harder to walk and breathe, but I still have no stretch marks, my ring still fits, I’ve gained the right amount of weight, and I’m eating healthier than I ever have. I’d say I might just make it through this experience alive. I am getting hungrier and hungrier though. She’s like a tape worm in there. Most of the time when I eat, I feel like nothing actually makes it to my stomach. I imagine her as that little pac man guy swimming around eating everything I give her before it has a chance to make me full. With all of the tiredness these days, I’ve had to start doing something very hard for me… ask for help. Just to Kyle, but even that tastes bitter coming out. I just enjoy doing things on my own and for myself. But I’m so darn tired, if I don’t ask him to help me things just won’t get done… and that’s even worse. I’m a little nervous about how I’ll react to help when Leah comes. I’m not good at taking it, and would really prefer not to have it. I know that’s horrible, but I can’t help it. So if you’re reading and are already thinking of ways you can help after she comes, I definitely appreciate it, but tread lightly. Or better yet, wait until I ask… that way you know I’ll be desperate.

One thing I don't need help with though is making my nest. You know, "nesting." This was another one of those things I didn't think was real. I can assure you now, it is. I have this compulsive, unrelenting need to clean, organize, cook, and throw away anything that stands in my way.  It's getting a little out of hand. And now that her room is done, I take it out on the rest of the house. To give you an example, Saturday we had about 45 minutes before we would leave to go eat lunch with some friends. I was sitting downstairs, half ready, but with a desire to clean under the bathroom cabinets so strong I couldn't shake it. So I used 30 of those 45 minutes and I cleaned the heck out of those cabinets. I threw away a ton of junk that had just been sitting in there, I reorganized our medicine, I reorganized my nail polish, and I wiped down the cabinet. And then I breathed a sigh of relief, finished my hair, smiled at my productiveness, and off we went to lunch. Sunday I spent the day doing more of the same. However, I also organized the magnets on the fridge, after all, they were completely unacceptable. Kyle told me he is not a fan of my nesting, because his things usually do not fair well. In my defense though, a ratty straw hat with bud light beer caps folded along the brim is not appropriate for any father of Leah's...

Last but not least, we found a doctor for Leah (and myself) last week! That was the one big thing I still wanted to get out of the way, and I’m so happy to cross it off the list. I’m also glad the first time was the charm, and I don’t have to keep thinking about it. He’s the one I blogged about last time; family practitioner, DO, etc… He seems great, smart, and is willing to work with us on our vaccine schedule… makes for a happy mama!

I can’t believe next week we’ll be 32 weeks! Things are picking up pace!!


No comments:

Post a Comment