Do you want to know what I'm wearing right now? No, that's not a dirty question... and here's why:
This morning I got up with an idea for clothes in my head. Thankfully, most of my pre-pregnancy clothes still fit as long as I wear my belly band. So I had it all planned out. Skirt, tights, shirt. Done and done. Getting there was a different story. The shirt was easy. Next came the tights... it's been a while since I've worn tights, but hey, they're stretchy, right? Easy enough. Wrong. Tights are NOT stretchy, they are TIGHT. But I didn't figure that out for a couple minutes. You see, first, I had to get my feet in them. This used to be relatively easy. Sit on the side of the bed, scrunch them up, one foot, the other foot, pull up. Not so the case today. Today went like this: Sit on the side of the bed, scrunch them up, realize you can't bend over enough to get your one foot in, stand up, bring that foot up to you, forget you're left standing on one foot, forget you have a bigger belly, remember that as you fall to the side, and repeat. Finally, 5 minutes and dripping in sweat... both feet are in. Now all that's left is pulling up. That went pretty smoothly until I got to my belly... uhhhh... Leah is not going to be able to breathe if I keep these tights on my belly all day. They. Were. Tight. Not wanting to take them off after all the time I spent putting them on, what did I do? The only logical thing I could think of. I eyed the pair of scissors sitting on the dresser, and began to cut. I cut four slits in the belly of the tights. One in front, one in back, and one on each side. They immediately folded down to the sides and off my belly. I smiled at my innovativeness, took a glimpse of myself in the mirror and actually laughed out loud. My face was beat red from fighting with them for so long, my hair was wet and a m.e.s.s. from falling all over the place, and then there were my tights... cut, ripped, and folded over to the tops of my legs. But did I change? Heck.No. I threw my skirt and belly band on and walked downstairs.
So with that story, I believe it's time for a symptom update. A lot has changed in my life since I stopped puking, some are great changes, some are scary, and some are hilarious.
Biggest change: Besides the belly, which is a given. My internal temperature has risen drastically. Normally I'm a constantly cold person. I would rather sweat than shiver, and I whine allll winter. Lately, however, I have been hot. The heat can't be on in my car, and if it is it is l.o.w. I haven't used the comforter to sleep with in over a month, and most of the time the sheet goes, too. Heaven forbid Kyle's blanket touch me, he no doubt gets an earful. What's scary is the fact that it's only March... what the heck is June going to be like? Drying and straightening my hair is a nightmare. I'm red-faced, and drenched in sweat by the time I'm done. Kyle asked me a while back when I was going to get to the stage where Steve Martin in Father of the Bride II wears the fur coat in the house... I believe we're inching closer and closer to that every day.
Emotions: Yeh, they're all over the place. For the most part, I like to think I'm still pretty even keel. However, I have noticed I have far less tolerance for anything wrong Kyle does. He gets snipped at a lot, poor guy. Some he deserves, most he doesn't. I haven't done the whole "crying at toilet paper commercials" bit, but I do cry randomly. Usually though, it's only when I'm really tired, or mad. However, I tear up with happy tears... a lot. Practically anytime I think about Leah I can make myself tear up. They usually don't leave my eyes, but I definitely well up. I just so gosh darn excited to meet her!
Favorite thing: Her kicks and pokes, duh. I could watch my belly and leave my hand on it all day. And that is not an exaggeration. Kyle, unfortunately does not have the patience I have. Every 2 seconds I tell him to "feel this" or "look at that" and if she doesn't do something in 10 seconds he's over it... ugh. But she has kicked him enough times. I guess I believe that he likes her regardless.
Energy: It's picked back up for the most part. Which is a welcome relief. I usually have enough every day to go home and pick up and cook dinner. If I'm really feeling it, I will walk or do light weights. I've been trying to make myself do that more, but there seem to be so many more fun things to do!
Sleeping: Ugh, it comes and goes. Last week, when she was growing, I got a full 9 hours a night - it was so great. This week, she's back to normal, which means my sleep is back to normal... and I'm up more often than I'd like. Thankfully, I only get up to go the the bathroom once every night so far. Every time I do though, I think of how someday soon that will be way more than once, and for way longer.
I'm Worried About: The fact that I'm only 23 weeks. Seriously, what is going to happen to this belly of mine in the next 17 weeks? I think it's big and in the way now... umm... how am I going to handle that. I already have to sit on the floor like a 2 year old to put socks on. I already can't scoot all the way up to my desk. I already can't see my feet. I already can't bend over to pick things up.... how much more can it possibly grow?! And that's rhetorical, I do not want to know the answer.
I'm Thankful For: No stretch marks, and no dark line. I don't know if it's genes, or I'm doing something right, but so far no stretch marks. Praise Jesus. When do they show up anyways? Maybe they're all waiting for me. But for now, I love my belly.
Least Favorite Part: The weight gain. Mine really isn't that bad, I'm right where I should be, and according to some books under where I should be. But that doesn't make it any easier. It's hard to watch the scale go up and up and up, knowing I can't diet or stop eating. When I'm hungry I have to eat. I also know that I'm not even in the thick of gaining weight yet, so that's a little nerve wrecking. I'm better than I was though. I've come to grips with it for the most part. I'm doing everything I can to eat healthy, and I want Leah to be a plump, healthy baby, so I guess it just comes with the territory.
Most Excited For: Besides meeting her, which is the obvious given. I am most excited for my first shower after having her. Ha, don't ask me why, but I'm already looking forward to it. I know no matter how she comes out things are gonna get messy, so I can't imagine how good that first shower will feel!
I Can't Wait To: Pack our bags for the hospital. Of course I will wait, but I'm so excited to be at that point. And that close. I can't wait to put her first outfits in it. I'm sure I'll pack way more than I need, but I don't care.
Most Dreading: Fat ankles and feet. Ugh, I can see them now... and it's not pretty. So far I haven't had any swelling though, and my ring still fits perfectly, but I know it's coming. Especially in summer, how could it not?
Weirdest Symptom: To me anyways... I didn't think this actually happened... but my feet have grown! It's true. Shoes that I have worn for over a year, and have completely broken in now cramp my toes and give me blisters. What's up with that? I heard that it happened, but I never believed it was actually true.
Dreams: I have insane dreams! Whether they are happy, sad, scary, or baby related, they are SO vivid. I heard about this happening as well. Kyle and I have both dreamed about Leah, which I love. We've compared in the mornings, and she seems to look the same to both of us. Pudgy, light brown hair, cute round face. We'll see...
Hunger: All the time.
Biggest Craving: I'm not sure I have just one big one. I eat an awful lot of fruit, and oatmeal though. Also, I crave soy milk. I have to have a glass everyday. Weird, but true. Sweet things are also always at the top of my list. However, I don't buy sweet things, and I don't want anyone to give me any. They have to be a special occasion. For instance, I'm already planning out and drooling over what kind of birthday cake I want. I don't want to go overboard with it, and Leah certainly does not need sugar.
Well that should about do it until sometime in the middle of 30 weeks when I look back on this and laugh because things have changed again. Leah has definitely done a number on me. I'll have to talk to her about it when she comes out.
No comments:
Post a Comment