Why orange? Well that seems to be a recurring theme in my day to day. Now that I am feeling better, and eating again I have four serious, can't go a day without one of them cravings: cuties(the clementines), cheetos, pizza lunchables, and wings. So obviously what do these things have in common? Besides being unhealthy and for 6 year olds(besides the wings), they are all orange! I noticed this because one day I sat down to have a "meal" of these things and everything on my plate was orange. I'm not sure if color has anything to do with it, or it's just a really weird coincidence... but nevertheless, week 15 has given me an infatuation with orange foods.
Another wonderful thing that comes with week 15 is the confidence I have in saying I am over the hump. The hump being the constant puking. It has been 11 days since I have thrown up, an accomplishment I am most proud of. I still get the very occasional wave of sickness, but nothing at all to complain about. Hallelujah.
With the not puking though, comes something I was not ready for. Weight gain. I know, I know, you're pregnant, of course you're going to gain weight. And of course I knew I would, but it had been 14 weeks before I put on a pound, so bare with me if I was a little taken back. In the days when I was throwing up, and losing weight, I would just eat and eat and eat, because I knew sooner or later it was coming up... and it always did. Then suddenly I caught myself eating and eating and eating... aaaaand nothing. It was suddenly staying in my stomach. Yikes! So now I have been more cautious of what I'm eating, and how much I'm eating because I know it's staying there for good. And by more cautious, I mean cheetos once a day, and not on a day I have a pizza lunchable. Thank God for the three clementines I average per day to make me think I'm eating healthy. Those aren't the only four things I eat though, no body worry, I'm eating plenty of healthy things... I just have to have at least one of those every day. But I've read that "most women" have gained anywhere from 5-10 pounds by now... so I will take the one pound that I've gained and enjoy it.
15 weeks has already given both of us a glimpse into our future. Two nights ago Kyle had a dream we had a really ugly little girl. And last night I had a dream we had an adorbale little boy. Wonder which one of us is actually seeing into the future? It has to be one of those, right? Let's just hope if it is a girl, she's not ugly. I also had a dream I was having triplets. Woke up a little scared from that one. Then I had a dream I went into labor, but decided I wasn't ready to have a baby, so I just stopped it. Neat, huh? It's crazy to me that I have all of these dreams in just the 30 minutes of sleep I get a night. So maybe it's more than 30 minutes, but not by much. I toss...and turn... alllllll night.
The most magical thing that has happened thus far happened last Friday night. I was sitting on the couch, stalking people on facebook. The house was quiet and still. I was propped up on my left side, half laying/half sitting, belly fully lopped over. When all of a sudden...thump, thump, thump, thump..............When the first one happened I felt it immediately and thought "what is that?" Didn't hurt in the slightest, and was like nothing I have felt before. Lighter than a muscle spasm, definitely not gas, not the normal "butterflies" I've heard about. The next three followed immediately. I sat in shock, poking my belly, wondering if what I thought happened really just happened. It's too early, right? So naturally, I called mom. I explained the situation and the sensation and, in all of her wisdom, she confirmed my thoughts. Whomever it is that has taken up residence in my belly, has now begun to kick me hard enough to feel!! And I wish he would do it every day, nonstop. He hasn't done it again since... but I will continue to wait patiently.
And finally, the last thing I've learned about myself in the past 15 weeks is that I am extremely picky in terms of the "stuff" I want for this baby. I've researched everything from carseats to bottles, and I know what I want. And that's all I want. I've drilled it in Kyle's head that we are buying Pampers Swaddlers Sensitive diapers, and wipes just in case someone asks him. And of course, when I quiz him he makes sure to tell me, Huggies Unsenstive. Ha, at least I know he gets it. He thinks I'm nuts, I know. You can give me your advice on products, but I've never been one to take advice (mom and dad know) so don't be offended when I smile, nod, and do something completely different.
That's it for now, the baby is about the size of an apple now... crazy that he used to be the size of the seed inside the apple! His bones are getting harder, his legs are growing longer than his arms, and his taste buds are continuing to develop. We continue to pray that all of his milestones are happening just as they should! And I think it's safe to say that both of us are now completely head over heels in love with this 4 inch long baby.
I wonder what I'll learn about myself and our little one this coming week? I'll tell you all about it at 16 weeks!
No comments:
Post a Comment