Monday, December 13, 2010

I can see a light!

Well folks, things may indeed be looking up. As I go into week 11, I have begun to notice some of the sickness disappear. Not completely, however, it has lessened quite a bit. For instance, instead of being sick all day I am now mainly only sick at night (with of course a few waves during the day). I have a bit of an appetite now, and it's getting less scary to eat. I'm no longer sick (for the most part) when I first wake up, nor do I wake up sick in the middle of the night. Both of those things are probably the most welcome. Waking up from a sound sleep sick was the pits. And it's much easier to start a day when the idea of moving is much more in my grasp. I just hope it's not all some sort of a tease, and that maybe I really am turning a corner!

Last night I was made all too aware of my longest lasting symptom, and one I don't even think I've talked about since it has mainly been overshadowed by the sickness, and that is.... the inability to sleep. For those of you that know me, you know I love to sleep. I love to go to bed. I can sleep anywhere. I am not, nor have I ever wanted to be a night owl. I love thinking about going to bed. However, I think I am growing a child that hates to sleep. I'm sure it could have nothing to do with him - but for now, he's getting the blame. I don't think I've slept a full night since I've been pregnant. Even before I knew I was pregnant, I realized I wasn't getting the normal blissful sleep I am so used to. I'm at a loss as to what it is. In the very beginning I was trying to be good and reading my book that told me to sleep on my left side because that's best for the baby. So I tried it. Let me mention here that I am and have always been a stomach sleeper. The sides just don't do it for me. And I learned quickly that the left side really doesn't do it for me. So for a while I chalked my constant waking up to me forcing myself to sleep uncomfortably on my left side. So I gave that up, and went back to sleeping on my stomach. Gasp! I feel a little like a bad mom, and really just hope he doesn't come out smooshed. When I went back to stomach sleeping though, I really started getting into the serious sickness. And I woke up every 30 minutes sick. And that became the new reason for my lack of sleep. So now that for the most part has worn off, and I'm still waking up! Only now, I just wake up. And lay there. Completely awake. Ugh.

I'm going to insert a "Kyle's dreams" side note here:

So if I have to be awake, I am so happy I get to be awake and have live entertainment right beside me. Last night I was laying there (from the hours of 1-5am no less) and Kyle's dreams were in full force! He was loud, and obnoxious almost all night. Sadly, he really didn't carry out a complete dream - but I did catch an episode of his sleep walking! So he started mumble yelling in his sleep. And I layed there smiling and still to see where this would go. He sounded like he was in trouble, I was a little nervous for him. He was moving around a lot too, had the hands flailing in the air, and his legs kicking around the sheets. So then he sits up. Uh oh. I knew what was coming next. Except I didn't. Because next he grabbed his pillow and stuck it out in front of him like a shield, I laughed. Then he stood up! With his pillow still out in front of him. And he was mumbling but sounded really scared. So I got nervous, and for some reason got this idea in my head, "what if he hurts me?" He was definitely fighting something, and I didn't want him to turn on me, I didn't even know where he would go. So I had to put a stop to it. I yelled, KYLE! I couldn't tell if he woke up or not, but he immediately got back in bed and layed down... and then gripped my thigh. Hard. And said, "they're trying to get me." And I laughed, and said, I'm sorry. And he rolled back over. That was incident one. Incident two was when at 3am he started cracking up! LOUD! As if he had just seen the funniest thing in the world. He laughed for like 5 minutes straight. And I laughed along with him. And then it was over. I asked him this morning, and he remembers neither of those things.

Now back to the baby who hates to sleep. Well, this week his fingers and toes are officially un-webbed. Or at least I will hope they are. He is the size of a fig, and some of his bones have begun to harden. He can open and close his fists, his ears are almost the shape they should be, and he has open nasal passages! It's crazy to me how much happens in just a week.

He certainly consumes every one of my thoughts.

No comments:

Post a Comment