It all started several months back. Kyle's best fried Kyle (tricky, I know) got engaged and named Kyle his best man. (I will try really hard to discern the two Kyle's). He and his wonderful, gorgeous fiance came to town for a visit and I was immediately concerned with all the details. The ring, the date, the colors, the dress, the flowers! However, the boys were immediately concerned with one thing... the bachelor party.
When my Kyle said "let's go to Vegas" - I rolled my eyes, laughed, and thought it would never happen. Low and behold, here I am sitting on the couch by myself - hoping he's still alive. Ok, not really - I trust him. I'm actually shocked at how much planning he got done, how much money he was able to part with, and how organized he was. He better give me a trip like this someday now that I know he's capable! Granted he had a lot of help from the other groomsmen, but he did his fair share.
Kyle and I are polar opposites in two ways: 1) He is a perfectionist, to the point of being OCD, and 2) he is a ridiculous planner. Everything he does is well thought out, planned, perfectly timed, organized, and all laid out. I fly by the seat of my pants. I'm am completely impulsive, and would rather not have a plan. So you can imagine how much fun we've had the last couple weeks trying to get him ready. And yes, I said couple weeks - because you know who started getting ready two weeks ago.
So it started simply with, "what should I bring to Vegas?" Of course I answered with an, "I don't know." I couldn't believe he was already thinking about it. If it was me, I would have packed it all yesterday. But I try really hard to accommodate him and his crazy antics. This question of what he should bring came up more and more frequently. Like several times a day. Then money came up. "How much money should I bring?" Good thing we had the same amount in mind, that one was easy.
So now we are at a week away. He wanted to print off his boarding pass. I told him that it was too early. He then got really angry at Southwest. Then he wanted to get money out of the bank. I told him no. He then got really angry at me. I explained to him that there was no way I was letting him carry a wallet full of cash around for over a week, and tried to assure him that the bank would not run out of money. He started getting a pile of clothes together for me to wash. Ugh. Then someone told him he needed button ups, so he got together a pile for me to iron. Ugh. Then one of them had the bright idea to bring their own alcohol, so they wouldn't have to pay for it in Vegas. So he had to plan all that of course. Finally we got to the night before, and we packed and packed and packed. Everything he needed was cleaned and ironed. He picked out exactly what clothes he would wear each day and night. Picked out just the right shoes. He had his money, he had his alcohol, he had his clothes, and he decided he would just get his ticket at the terminal. He was finished! We were finished.
I heard from him last night when he got there. He did in fact make it. I know they are two hours behind, and I know there is no way he is awake, so I will just wait patiently for a phone call. In the meantime, I learned that I am not good sleeping by myself. I could NOT fall asleep last night. And that is just not normal. When he is here I am out in 30 seconds or less, last night I tossed and turned for 30 minutes and got startled by every noise I heard. I usually yell at him for taking up the whole bed and covers. But somehow last night I wasn't comfortable not clinging to the side of the bed, and not freezing. Weird.
But don't feel sorry for me. I've got a fun weekend planned, too! Last night I went to a horse show with my good friend Vicki! It was a lot of fun! And tonight I think I'm going to Oktoberfest with Kelsey? Kelsey, are we still going? Haha. And my mom is coming for the rest of the weekend! Yay!! I guess I better go clean for her....
No comments:
Post a Comment