Can I just take you back a few weeks? Okay, a lot of weeks. Starting about week three, Leah really got going with the crying. We had the witching hour, and a lot of nights where she wanted to stay up late and hang out. In those days, Kyle and I had a daily conversation that went something like this: Kyle: Can we just let her cry? Me: No, she’s too little. Now we can come back to real time. Leah is now four months old. I’ve noticed some things that lead me to believe she is starting to play games. For instance, I will rock her she will be completely relaxed and almost asleep… I put her in the crib and she instantly wakes up and cries. Repeatedly. I cannot spend my days rocking her, so I have finally reached the point that I feel I can let her cry a little to get herself to sleep. We worked on it all week last week, and she actually did great. She cried for only a few minutes each time, but then got herself to sleep. By the end of the week I was able to put her in her crib wide awake and she got herself to sleep each time without a tear. Then the weekend rolls around, and you know who is home. King of the “can we just let her cry.” Well, I learned something this weekend… he is just a big sap. First nap of the weekend, and Leah cries when I put her down. I left her room anyways, and came back downstairs. Kyle was still upstairs in our bedroom. A couple minutes later I hear him walking the path into her room, and what do you know, she stops crying. I rolled my eyes. A few minutes later he puts her down again, I hear crying, then instantly it stops again. Wonder why? I roll my eyes again. He tries a couple more times. I continue to roll my eyes from the couch. Finally, he makes it halfway down the stairs and lets me know, “she keeps crying.” I let him know that it’s because he keeps picking her back up; she would much rather sleep in his arms. He sticks his bottom lip out and tells me he doesn’t want her to cry. I think it’s safe to say, the big bad, “let her cry” has left the building, and “daddy’s little girl” has emerged. And so begin the days of mom being tough all day, and daddy coming home to the rescue to make sure there are no tears. But for some reason, I can’t fight it. I can roll my eyes, but I don’t ever want to tell him he’s not allowed to stop her from crying. And hopefully she is learning (without getting too spoiled) that daddy will always come to her rescue. They’re quite a pair.
And to continue in real time, Leah hit a big milestone yesterday: Foooooood. What a fun experience that was. She didn’t do much head thrashing like her cousins did, but she did make a number of funny faces. She went back for bite after bite though, so I think she liked it! And she had a great night of sleep to follow, yay for a full belly!
She also had a doctor’s appointment yesterday. She is growing like a weed, just under 15lbs and 25 inches long. I remember when I used to blog about her weighing three ounces, and being a quarter of an inch long. Crazy! He also checked her tracking ability, ability to hold her weight up while standing, ability to pull herself into a sitting position, and reflexes. Of course, she passed all of it with flying colors. And then… she bit him, which prompted a long talk about where in the world her teeth are. He did tell me that the lining of her gums is thinning out, so hopefully they will be here soooon. Until then, there is a lot of biting, drool, and sleepless nights in our future. Her chewing is really out of control. She will chew on anything. For instance, today we were in the car, and I heard a strange sound. I looked in the mirror facing her car seat and saw her uncomfortably bent over and gnawing on the chest buckle of her car seat. When I put her car seat mirror in the car in preparation for her arrival I had visions of how I would see her in it. I thought I’d glance back and see her sleeping soundly, or maybe I’d see her laughing or smiling. I never once thought I’d look back and see her eating the buckle. She is somethin’ else.
Her newest trick of the week… grabbing her feet! She finally got them! And for the longest time, wouldn’t let them go. Ha. When I go to get her from her crib now she’s got a good hold on them and stares up at me with a big smile. She’s so proud of herself. I imagine it’s only a matter of time until she figures out how to get them in her mouth. And she has started sitting up. In her bouncer at least. I suppose it reclines too far back for her, and she insists on being upright at all times. This morning she sat straight up for the longest time. And then she tried to crawl down to the floor. She’s too much for me. She continues to love her jumperoo, books, rings, and looking at herself in the mirror.
This weekend Leah has her first wedding. To get there we have a five hour drive, Lord help us.
I can't remember any notable conversations from the last week :(. My apologies.
No comments:
Post a Comment